Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
Ep. 79 Brian Reynolds: The Leadville Trail 100. With Brian Reynolds
2
0:00
-20:33

Ep. 79 Brian Reynolds: The Leadville Trail 100. With Brian Reynolds

Inspiring with purpose
2
Transcript

No transcript...

“I spent the first 20-something years as an amputee, both not knowing what was possible, but also not knowing that my prosthetics hurting me every single day wasn't normal… …It took me two decades to learn that. So my goal with my platform is to make sure that specifically amputees, but para athletes or anybody else know that there's ways to overcome these obstacles and for amputees knowing that pain isn't normal. There's ways to fix this.”

Brian Reynolds is looking to be the inspiration he missed out on earlier in life. He’s on a mission to help amputees and para athletes get all the information he didn’t have. He wants to make it possible for amputees to learn how to run great distances, or simply after their children. He also loves to take on big challenges, and the hooks of Leadville had set themselves deep in Reynolds trail running physche from his previous experience at the event. When his name was drawn in the lottery, he didn’t hesitate to get after it.

“I love Colorado. I love the mountains. I love the small little town atmosphere where just everybody is into the race. I worked the event a year, I crewed for somebody the next year, and then I put my name in the lottery because it usually takes a few years to get in. I was like, “if I start putting my name in the lottery now, by the time I'm actually ready to run it, I'll get in.” Then I got in on the first year, it was like, “Oh no, now I can't say no.” And, you know what? I like big goals and may as well go from a marathon to an ultra. And we may as well make the ultra at altitude and 100 miles. I have a great community around me, whether it's training partners, coaches, family. I was just like, I'm going to go for it.”

Check out the trailer here!

Brian is excited to have the film included in the festival to help him spread his message. I had a great time chatting with him and learning more about amputee athletes and I’m grateful he came on to share! Come out to the Trail Running Film Festival and check out the film for yourself, you’ll be happy you did!

Check out Episode 78 with the filmmaker Michael Grasela:

Vancouver tickets available

Thursday, April 4, 2024. The Rio Theatre. Doors at 6, show at 7.

Bring your noisemakers!

I’m so excited to host all of you amazing trail runners once again here in Vancouver, BC! The Rio Theatre is booked for Thursday, April 4, 2024, with the doors opening at 6 and the show starting at 7. We’re gonna do it bigger and better than last year and give this thing a festival vibe.

We have amazing sponsors lined up once again, we’ll have some great giveaways, another awesome guest, and a secret show opener that you’ll want to make noise for. Bring your cowbells, tambourines, or whatever you have to get loud, and let’s rock the Rio together!

Tickets are on sale now for $30.

Our local sponsors:

5 Peaks

Coast Mountain Trail Running Conquer the Vedder

Distance Runwear

Ridgeline Athletics

Peaks N Valleys

Beast of Big Creek

Heads or Trails

RunGo

Naak

Mum’s the Word

Calgary early bird tickets on sale now!

I’m so excited to get Calgary online! Get your $20 early bird tickets this week only! Edmonton and Crowsnest Pass are on sale now as well. Canmore will come online March 13 for artsPlace members and March 15 for non-members. I’m incredibly excited to be able to hang out with more of you and share the film festival vibes. Our dates are:

Tuesday, June 4, 2024, Edmonton (Garneau Theatre) Regular Price $25 (Early birds sold out in just over 72 hours!)

Wednesday, June 5, 2024, Calgary (Globe Cinema) Monday, March 4 $20 early-bird tickets. Regular Price $25 starts Monday, March 11

Thursday, June 6, 2024, Canmore (Partnering with artsPlace) Tickets on sale March 13/15 (members/non members)

Friday, June 7, 2024, Crowsnest Pass (Blairmore) (Frank Slide Interpretive Centre partnering with Sinister Sports) Limited (75) $25 tickets on sale now

Click on the links above for the FB event pages to keep up to date. Keep an eye peeled for official announcements as we will let you know the moment these become official and tickets are listed for sale. I’m so pumped to hang out with you all!

Please like (me), rate, share, and subscribe wherever you do those things (Now on Facebook)

Spotify: Click Here

Google Podcasts: Click Here

Apple Podcasts: Click Here

Music by Paolo Argentino from Pixabay

We’re on the journey to 2,000 subscribers, help us get there!

If you enjoy this podcast, I would really appreciate it if you could like, share, subscribe, or comment! I’m trying to make this the best trail running podcast it can be and I certainly appreciate your time. Thank you all and happy trails :)

2 Comments
Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
A 15-minute (ish) trail running podcast featuring informative and entertaining guests. Trail running is inclusive, adventurous, and fun. So is this podcast. This podcast is part of the Community Trail Running newsletter and extends the trail running community for your listening pleasure.