Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
Ep. 8 A coach can make you a better trail runner. With Ridgeline Athletics coach Jeanelle Hazlett
0:00
-14:35

Ep. 8 A coach can make you a better trail runner. With Ridgeline Athletics coach Jeanelle Hazlett

Be humbled. Go faster.

When Gary Robbins and Eric Carter seek you out to work with them, you’re probably a pretty good athlete and an even better person. The two of them operate Ridgeline Athletics and added Jeanelle Hazlett as their first outside coaching hire in 2018. She’s been helping people become better trail runners and athletes as a Ridgeline coach ever since.

Jeanelle has represented Canada as a trail runner!

Getting better at anything requires practice and discipline. A coach can focus your practice so you are taking the most direct route to your goal. Jeanelle tells us about providing that focus for her athletes who are looking to become better trail runners.

“The most exciting thing has been really getting to know my athletes. What makes them tick and trick. They’re like, “I didn’t even mention this to you and yet you knew.” It’s the coaches intuition that gets to become the primary thing which is pretty exciting.”

Spotify: Click Here

Google Podcasts: Click Here

Apple Podcasts: Click Here

The conversation was a lot of fun and provided some great insight into what a trail running coach thinks about. I’m also certainly looking forward to the PNW Trailrunners group runs. I hope to see some of you out there!

Jeanelle’s Instagram

Ridgeline Athletics Website

PNW Trailrunners Website

I trained with Ridgeline Athletics in 2021 for the Squamish 50/50. I absolutely loved it and I feel that I learned more in 9 months of full-time coaching with them than I had in the previous 7 years of running.

Obviously, you can reach out to Jeanelle with any questions you have, and feel free to comment below if you have any for me as well!

If you enjoy the podcast, I would really appreciate it if you could like, share, subscribe, or comment! I’m trying to make this the best trail running podcast it can be and I certainly appreciate your time. Thank you all and happy trails :)

0 Comments
Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
A 15-minute (ish) trail running podcast featuring informative and entertaining guests. Trail running is inclusive, adventurous, and fun. So is this podcast. This podcast is part of the Community Trail Running newsletter and extends the trail running community for your listening pleasure.