Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
Ep. 62 Moab 240. With Jeff Pelletier
0:00
-16:35

Ep. 62 Moab 240. With Jeff Pelletier

When the first 100 miles are the warm up

“The first hundred miles are just a warm-up. You're sort of discovering how your body is feeling on the day. Okay, how are my legs? Did I rest enough? How's my taper? Getting a feel for, how is your body going to allow you to perform? It's hard to force it, and just really settling into a rhythm. And then the second hundred miles is where you can start to lay it on thicker.”

Jeff Pelletier had an incredible result at Moab 240 recently and did so by running his own race. The filmmaker is a helluva trailrunner and his story from Moab was really insightful and fun to listen to. Jeff talked about his race strategy including foot care, proper pacing, fuelling, and a few more things. And important to note, on top of everything, he documented the whole thing for a film he hopes to release in the new year! Suffice it to say, it was a big race for Jeff personally, and he has taken some new motivation and lessons going forward.

“I could have easily found 5, 10, even 15 minutes of time. And part of that might have been being a little bit more aggressive in the back half of the race when it came to the aid stations and things like that. Maybe even cutting back on my sleep time a little bit, adjusting to the way the race was playing out. And so for me, that was a lesson. I think I'm at the point now in my running career where I can start to lay it on the line a little bit more, take some chances.”

Make sure to follow Jeff along on IG and YouTube so you don’t miss any of his updates! I’m super stoked to have had him on and hope you all enjoy the chat as much as I did.

Last week was also about Moab 240 as we heard from Heather “Koko” Scott:

Javelina Jeanelle

Next week we’re back again! Lots of awesome folks have been available, so we’re gonna keep rolling out the episodes. Jeanelle Hazlett is back on the cast talking about her 2nd place finish in the 100k Javelina Jundred!

Help me hit 1,000 subscribers

Growing this with all of you has been incredibly fun and rewarding. This community is truly special, and I’m grateful to be a part of it. We’re getting so close to 1,000 subscribers and my goal is to get there by the end of the year. Please sign up if you haven’t already, I greatly appreciate it!

So close to 1,000! Thank you for your support 💪

Big news and special episode dropping December 1

Even more content and good times are coming… STAY TUNED

Previous episode with Jeff:

Spotify: Click Here

Google Podcasts: Click Here

Apple Podcasts: Click Here

Music by Paolo Argentino from Pixabay

If you enjoy this podcast, I would really appreciate it if you could like, share, subscribe, or comment! I’m trying to make this the best trail running podcast it can be and I certainly appreciate your time. Thank you all and happy trails :)

0 Comments
Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
A 15-minute (ish) trail running podcast featuring informative and entertaining guests. Trail running is inclusive, adventurous, and fun. So is this podcast. This podcast is part of the Community Trail Running newsletter and extends the trail running community for your listening pleasure.