Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
Ep. 21 Keep'n it Won-Hundred. With Katie Mills, Hilary Spires and Tara Holland!
0:00
-16:59

Ep. 21 Keep'n it Won-Hundred. With Katie Mills, Hilary Spires and Tara Holland!

"This is the correct order of how things should happen today." - Tara Holland
Coast Mountain always has awesome photos from Scott Robarts (above) and Ty Holtan

Coast Mountain Trail Running’s “Whistler Alpine Meadows” event has a 100-kilometre race that has over 6,000m of climbing and today’s episode features the top three women! Katie Mills, Hilary Spires, and Tara Holland finished 1, 2, and 3 respectively, and shared stories of their time together and apart on the trails of Whistler. They are inspirational and funny and I had an absolute blast listening to these awesome women!

“Instead of freaking out that I was gonna be caught by somebody or whatever, I was kind of hopeful that I'd have a bit of company for the last bit. But it also makes you push in a different way because I knew how strong she was uphill. And I knew that she has really good finishing abilities.” - Katie on the difference between running ahead of friends vs. non-friends.

Who did you go for a trail run with last? Do they know about Community Trail Running? Let them know now!

Share

Hilary has now been on the show two episodes in a row, so a huge shoutout to her! Hilary cracked everyone up talking about how competitive she can be and, as previously mentioned, she hosts the podcast “Trail Running Women”. You absolutely should listen now, so here are a couple of episodes of Trail Running Women featuring today’s guests, Katie Mills and Tara Holland!

“I wanna be on the podium with these two. I really didn't want someone else to catch me. So that made a difference to me.” - Tara on the extra motivation of running with Katie and Hilary.

Hilary is going to run this interview on her podcast as well, so make sure to subscribe to both! I also made the “editorial decision”(lol) to run this interview in full length here, since it’s running on Trail Running Women as well and I felt it should be consistent on both. It’s well worth the few extra minutes, I promise.

“I am a ruthlessly competitive person, like I'll hold your head underwater to win kind of bad-competitive.” Hilary is an open book on the podcast!

Spotify: Click Here

Google Podcasts: Click Here

Apple Podcasts: Click Here

Youtube: Click Here

Music by Skilsel from Pixabay

Katie briefly mentions “Salomon Trail Labs” as well. If you’re local to the Vancouver area, check out this awesome running group. It’s so much fun and will be starting up around Halloween:

Community Trail Running
Salomon trail labs
If you live in the Vancouver area and enjoy trail running, there is a group run that takes place all winter long on Saturday mornings at 8 am. This group is called the Salomon Trail Lab. It. Is. Awesome. Started 4 years ago through the Salomon store by Salomon Ambassador…
Read more

If you enjoy this podcast, I would really appreciate it if you could like, share, subscribe, or comment! I’m trying to make this the best trail running podcast it can be and I certainly appreciate your time. Thank you all and happy trails :)

I’m taking submission again from you, so please check out the latest article:

Community Trail Running
Dear Abby, er, Adam...
Hello again friends, is it not crazy that we’re nearly into October? Fall starts tomorrow (September 22) as we get set for the home stretch of 2022. Wow. To celebrate(?) the coming season, I’m firing up another post here that is going to rely on all of you for your questions. It’s an advice column!!! Before you worry too much about me…
Read more
0 Comments
Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
A 15-minute (ish) trail running podcast featuring informative and entertaining guests. Trail running is inclusive, adventurous, and fun. So is this podcast. This podcast is part of the Community Trail Running newsletter and extends the trail running community for your listening pleasure.