Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
Ep. 108 L.A. Running Connoisseur. With Kate Olson
2
0:00
-22:33

Ep. 108 L.A. Running Connoisseur. With Kate Olson

Organizing L.A. running clubs and gunnin' down dudes
2

“As a slow pitch player, I really like to sucker the guys into running on me because I have a small arm but I have a cannon. So I'd be in the outfield and I'd be like “yeah, go go” and then I'd gun him down at second base and I'd be like “sorry you tried.”

Kate Olson organizes 150 run clubs around L.A. on her website and IG page, into a handy list for folks to know what’s happening all over the city, which is amazing. Because she is so thorough with it all, it enables folks to join runs they may not have before, because the information is more accessible. This is all fantastic, she’s getting more and more people running on the roads and the trails. But even more fun than that for me was the quick baseball tangent we got to go on. She loves playing defense as she grew up at second base and loved to dive all over the field. These days she doesn’t play as much baseball (but she’ll still throw you out), as she’s fully invested in running. It’s a big part of her life and the joy she gets from it is why she strives to make it accessible for others.

“Somewhere along the line, someone had noticed I started running with people and they asked me if I knew more clubs. They had a friend, a woman who wanted to run, but not alone. So I was like, I know this, I'm going to figure this out for you.”

Kate is full of ideas and a very creative person. She loves running long races and crewing her friends as well. I’m looking forward to seeing what she gets up to moving forward, as she doesn’t seem like the type to sit still! I hope you all enjoy our conversation as much as I did.

#Naaksquad - Try it and get 15% off

I enjoy the Naak products, even if the sauces took a few tries to grow on me. They get the job done and they don’t give me any issues, and isn’t that the point? So I applied to be part of the squad to get a discount on the products I plan on using a bunch. Reach out to me if you have any questions and I’ll do my best to answer! They give me a referral code, so I’m including that today.

If you’re gonna check it out, click through this link (CTR15 for 15% off), I appreciate it.

Listen where you listen

Spotify: Click Here

Google Podcasts: Click Here

Apple Podcasts: Click Here

Music by Paolo Argentino from Pixabay

We’re on the journey to 2,000 subscribers, help us get there!

If you enjoy this podcast, I would really appreciate it if you could like, share, subscribe, or comment! I’m trying to make this the best trail running podcast it can be and I certainly appreciate your time. Thank you all and happy trails :)

Discussion about this podcast

Community Trail Running
Community Trail Running
A 20-minute (ish) trail running podcast featuring informative and entertaining guests. Trail running is inclusive, adventurous, and fun. So is this podcast. This podcast is part of the Community Trail Running newsletter and extends the trail running community for your listening pleasure.